The Crystal Cup

The Crystal Cup European Cross Country Challenge was a new initiative developed in 2010 that brings together the finest international horses and riders to reward the most successful stable in cross country steeple chasing.

The 11 race series, with over 800,000 Euros in prize money, will be hosted by many of Europe’s premier racecourses, over unique combinations of hedges, banks, ditches and timber. The Challenge begins in Waregem in Belgium in August and concludes at Lion d’Angers in France in May, following four further races in France and visits to Britain, Poland, Italy and to the Czech Republic for the Velka Pardubika.


A final ranking of the Crystal Cup will take place after the last event by adding the points awarded in all races for the Owner, Trainer, Jockey, Horse and Breeder.

No Owner or Trainer will participate in the final standings of the Crystal Cup unless they have taken part in a minimum of three Crystal Cup races, including at least two outside their country of training.

Points will be awarded to sixth place in each race with bonus points awarded to competitors travelling from abroad

Place Points Bonus Points Outside Country of Training
1st 6 12
2nd 5 10
3rd 4 8
4th 3 6
5th 2 4
6th 1 2
Unplaced 0.5 1


The Owner accumulating the most points in the 10 race series will win the Crystal Cup and €20,000 and second place will win €10,000.

The Trainer accumulating the most points in the 10 race series will win a bonus of €10,000 and second place will win €5,000.

The number of horses that an Owner or Trainer may enter in Crystal Cup races is not limited, however only the points obtained by the top three ranked horses will be counted.

In the event of a tie the prizes will be awarded to the Owner or Trainer of the horse that has won the most money accumulated in the 11 Crystal Cup races.

For the rankings of the jockeys, breeders and horses all the points obtained in the Crystal Cup races will be considered.